PDA

View Full Version : commitData doesn't seem to be called...

tone
8th September 2008, 17:33
Hello everyone.
This is my first post here and I'm fairly new to C++ and Qt programming.
Here's my problem.
I'm working on an application written in Qt4.4.0 in MS windows.
The application allows only one instance and uses a file that, if present, means an instance is running. So, I create this file on application startup and delete it on application exit.
This works fine when the program ends by user interaction but it's not working when I close a windows session, or by a windows shutdown.

I made a simple testcase to illustrate my problem, so that any willing soul can give it a shot and point me some sort of error that I'm making here....

This is main.cpp

#include <QDebug>
#include "Application.h"

int main( int argc , char *argv[] ) {
Application myApp(argc , argv);

return myApp.exec();
}

and here's my app class, subclassed from QApplication, so that I could reimplement commitData():
Application.h:
#ifndef __APPLICATION_H__
#define __APPLICATION_H__
#include <QFile>
#include <QApplication>
#include <QSessionManager>

class Application: public QApplication {
Q_OBJECT
private:
QFile lockFile;
public:
Application( int argc , char *argv[] );
void commitData( QSessionManager &manager);

public slots:
void bailout(QSessionManager &manager);
};

#endif // __APPLICATION_H__

and Application.cpp:

#include <QDebug>
#include <QApplication>
#include <QSessionManager>
#include "Application.h"

Application::Application( int argc , char *argv[] ): QApplication( argc , argv ) {
lockFile.setFileName( QString( "%1/instance.lock" ).arg( qApp->applicationDirPath() ) );
lockFile.open(QIODevice::WriteOnly);

connect(
this , SIGNAL(commitDataRequest(QSessionManager&))
, this , SLOT(bailout(QSessionManager&))
, Qt::DirectConnection
);
}

void Application::commitData(QSessionManager& manager) {
qDebug() << "Commiting data :-)";
lockFile.close();
lockFile.remove();
manager.release();
}