PDA

View Full Version : Can you specify a file engine?



skimber
16th September 2008, 21:55
I have an odd little problem. I have a folder that I would like to save the contents of in a backup folder. Not a problem, there are a couple different ways to do it. Either copying the whole directory or each individual file one at a time over. Both ways work great with one exception, filenames under 8 characters are saved in all lower case. I need that file names the same as the original. toUpper and toLower will not work.

QAbstractFileEngineHandler sounds like it would work if I could specify the file type:

When you open a file, Qt chooses a suitable file engine by passing the file name from QFile or QDir through an internal list of registered file engine handlers. The first handler to recognize the file name is used to create the engine.

Can you choose what file type?

Thanks for any ideas you can throw my way!

wysota
16th September 2008, 22:46
File engines are for something else. It's a dead end in this case. I suggest you find out the reason for such strange filename changes. I've never seen anything like it in Qt, maybe it's caused by the underlying filesystem?

skimber
18th September 2008, 15:54
Thanks wysota your right, it was the file system.