PDA

View Full Version : Versioning



navi1084
19th September 2008, 11:10
Hi,
Can anyone tell me how can I apply Version number to my application. My application contains Dll's , exe , etc. So how can I apply version numbers and update each day when the build is finished.

Thank You

fanat9
19th September 2008, 14:31
You can get compiling datetime using macros __DATE__ and __TIME__.
tr("Build %0 %1").arg(__DATE__).arg(__TIME__)

jpn
19th September 2008, 18:54
See Version numbering using QMake.

navi1084
30th September 2008, 15:06
Hi,
Thank you for the reply. I checked VERSION tag in qmake. Actually i am building my application using Visual Studio. Can any one help me out how to apply VERSIOn information to DLL and Exe's???

NoRulez
30th September 2008, 15:25
I've already write a simply python script for that, which patches the RC-File and generate a main.h which has Version, Revision and so on in it.

If you are interested write me an PM.

Best Regards
NoRulez

cafu
17th December 2009, 12:03
I've already write a simply python script for that, which patches the RC-File and generate a main.h which has Version, Revision and so on in it.


Would be possible for you to post it.

or can you explain how to do it.

i have found this http://qtcreator.blogspot.com/2009/10/generating-automatic-version-numbers.html web but i am not familiar how to use header file to make the version number