PDA

View Full Version : signal of QListWidget doesn't work

vito49
29th September 2008, 17:39
Hello,

First of all forgive me my bad English and please keep in mind I'm a complete newbie to C++. I did some coding for a while in 'Gambas', that's like Visual Basic but for Linux.

Up to now it goes fine with Qt but I do have one problem I can't solve ...
The GUI of my first program is made with designer and has amongst several buttons and lineEdits also a ListWidget.

This ListWidget does not emit signals, all other widgets do, they work fine.

Here's some code I use to emit the signal:
connect(listWidget, SIGNAL(itemActivated(QListWidgetItem * item)), this, SLOT(enableDeleteButton()));

Signal itemClicked() doesn't work neither....

As the function enableDeleteButton() says it will enable a button I can use to remove items from the ListWidget.

Anyone an idea what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks.

Vito

jpn
29th September 2008, 17:48
You must not put parameter names to the connect statement. It should be:

connect(listWidget, SIGNAL(itemActivated(QListWidgetItem*)), this, SLOT(enableDeleteButton()));

vito49
29th September 2008, 20:28
You must not put parameter names to the connect statement. It should be:

connect(listWidget, SIGNAL(itemActivated(QListWidgetItem*)), this, SLOT(enableDeleteButton()));

Yes, this was the solution, thanks ... but how do I know what item is selected for deletion if I can't put it in a parameter? Or are there other ways?

Thank you for your help.

Vito

spirit
29th September 2008, 20:40
you can use

QListWidgetItem * QListWidget::currentItem () const

montylee
30th September 2008, 06:19
Yes, this was the solution, thanks ... but how do I know what item is selected for deletion if I can't put it in a parameter? Or are there other ways?

Thank you for your help.

Vito

you can use the following syntax:

connect(listWidget, SIGNAL(itemActivated(QListWidgetItem *)), this, SLOT(enableDeleteButton(QListWidgetItem *)));