PDA

View Full Version : "make" is giving an error



Sarma
4th April 2006, 18:23
Hi all
Recently I have installed QT-Windows on my PC.During installation itself has set the path to PATH=C:\Qt\4.1.1\bin;C:\MinGW\bin;C:\WINDOWS\Syste m32

I have tried to execute an example program given in tutorial 1 i.e., "Hello World"
these r the steps i have followed:

C:\Qt\4.1.1\bin\Code\ex>qmake -project

C:\Qt\4.1.1\bin\Code\ex>qmake

C:\Qt\4.1.1\bin\Code\ex>make
mingw32-make -f Makefile.Debug all
mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `C:/Qt/4.1.1/bin/Code/ex'
g++ -mthreads -Wl,-enable-stdcall-fixup -Wl,-enable-auto-import -Wl,-enable-runt
ime-pseudo-reloc -Wl,-subsystem,windows -o "debug\ex.exe" tmp\obj\debug_shared\e
x.o -L"C:\Qt\4.1.1\lib" -L"C:\Qt\4.1.1\lib" -lmingw32 -lqtmaind -lQtGuid4 -lQtC
ored4
C:\MinGW\bin\..\lib\gcc\mingw32\3.4.2\..\..\..\..\ mingw32\bin\ld.exe: cannot fin
d -lQtGuid4
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
mingw32-make[1]: *** [debug\ex.exe] Error 1
mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Qt/4.1.1/bin/Code/ex'
mingw32-make: *** [debug-all] Error 2

Here "Code,ex" are the user defined directories."ex" contains the ex.cpp file

Please tell me what might the fault.
Its very urgent

Thanks in advance
Sarma

jacek
4th April 2006, 18:49
It looks like you didn't build Qt in debug mode.

Sarma
5th April 2006, 19:03
Hi
Thanks a lot 4 ur reply.
There is a QT4.1.1 (Build Debug Libraries)prompt.Is tht wat u r saying to run.
I hav even tried out tht.
Wat I hav done is i hav opened that prompt,then it has started debugging all the files.I left it like tht running for half an hour and later i thought it is of no use and closed the window.

Is tht prompt u r saying to run.Plz reply .
Its very urgent.plz plz

thanks in advane
Sarma

jacek
5th April 2006, 19:23
Wat I hav done is i hav opened that prompt,then it has started debugging all the files.
It wasn't debugging, it was compiling Qt in debug mode. Better start it again and wait until it finishes.

kkool84
21st August 2006, 03:18
i met the same problem when i compile my first hello world:confused:

i'm now run again build debug libraries, no idea when it will finish the process:eek:

ball
21st August 2006, 04:01
Yeah, do you guys know why Trolltech do not release the binary for linux distribution, either in RPM or DEB format or just a ZIP file? It is too time consuming to compile all things from beginning.

jacek
21st August 2006, 14:28
Yeah, do you guys know why Trolltech do not release the binary for linux distribution, either in RPM or DEB format or just a ZIP file?
Because they would have to create and maintain a separate RPM/DEB package for each Linux distribution?

Distribution creators are responsible for maintaining packages. Did you check your distribution? Maybe there is a precompiled Qt available?


It is too time consuming to compile all things from beginning.
But you do it only once.