PDA

View Full Version : How use Model view with a tree wich have Cycle ?



weepdoo
8th December 2008, 13:34
Hy,

I've got a tree with cycle in it, and I would like to represent it in Qt, how can I ?

Because the parent for a QModelIndex is not always the same, so how can we handle it ?

Thanks

wysota
8th December 2008, 14:24
A tree by definition has no cycles :) If you want to represent a graph, you won't be able to show it in one of the standard views anyway, so the implementation of parent has less meaning. Just return a proper parent index for the item, if it has two parents, return always the same one. There is a chance it will work although be aware the architecture was not built for such uses. It might be better to store the data as a neighbourhood matrix or not to use itemviews at all.

weepdoo
9th December 2008, 18:05
Thanks for the tips.

I'm going to doing it manualy ;)