PDA

View Full Version : how to show a new QDialog inside a mainwindow?

cram07
3rd January 2009, 13:21
Hello,

I am just a really newbie in QT, and now I am blocked trying to do that. I just want open or show a new QDialog inside the MainWindow ...

I open mydialog at this way:
MyDialog dialog(this);
dialog.exec();

and this just open a new window separated of the MainWindow. I don't know if I explained it ok, as my skills of qt my skills of english aren't really good..

thanks

spirit
3rd January 2009, 13:26
if you did that you described then dialog had to be displayed.
so, what is the problem? what do you want to achive?

cram07
3rd January 2009, 13:49
yes, the dialog is displayed. But it is displayed free, I would like enclose this dialog in the mainwindow.., i know exists a word for describe that but I don't know (maybe docked??, i don't know)

at this way the dialog can be moved and maximized freely inside the all the system screen, and I don't want that, I want enclose the dialog in the frames of the mainwindow..

spirit
3rd January 2009, 13:53
have you seen these classes QWorkspace or QMdiArea?

cram07
3rd January 2009, 16:14
I tried Workspace and seems work fine, I do:

workspace = new QWorkspace();
setCentralWidget(workspace);

MyDialog* dialog = new MyDialog(workspace);
workspace->addWindow(dialog);

dialog->show();

but now I have another little question, now when the dialog is closed the function ~MyDialog is not throwed until the mainwindow is closed. What does it means?? the Dialog still consuming memory until the mainwindows is closed??

thanks

golnaz
3rd January 2009, 16:35
yes, because you have defined dialog using a pointer an new() operator. so the dialog exists in memory as long as its parent exists.
if you need to destruct dialog sooner, do this:

delete dialog;

by calling delete operator, ~MyDialog will be called, then dialog will be cleared from memory. :)

spirit
3rd January 2009, 16:36