PDA

View Full Version : Pass custom events to another process

TTGator
12th January 2009, 20:28
I see some documentation about passing events from object to object, but is there a way to pass custom events to another process that was created by the qws server? (Embedded)

I'm assuming that QCOP is somehow involved... but I'm REALLY new to Qt, so any direction would be much appreciated!

jpn
12th January 2009, 20:42
Both processes can create an instance of QCopChannel with same channel name.

TTGator
12th January 2009, 20:51
I don't suppose there's any sample code out there that implements this is there?

TTGator
13th January 2009, 18:03
Bueller....

jpn
13th January 2009, 18:26
Receiver:

QCopChannel* channel = new QCopChannel("mychannel", this);
connect(channel, SIGNAL(received(QString, QByteArray)), this, SLOT(receiveMessage(QString, QByteArray)));

Sender:

QCopChannel::send("mychannel", message, data);

TTGator
13th January 2009, 21:44
So in your code example, "data" is supposed to be a custom event? It looks like it's supposed to be a QByteArray.

wysota
14th January 2009, 00:19
QCopChannel is not a way to send specifically "events", but any data. You can serialize an event on one end and deserialize it on the other end and dispatch it to the desired object. Of course both sides of communication have to be aware and ready for such mechanism - you can't communicate with any arbitrary application like that.

TTGator
14th January 2009, 14:05
Yes, I want to create a QServer process and have it start another QProcess and communicate with events. So I am trying to figure out how to first, create a custom event, and second, how to send that event from one process to the other.

Thank you for the order flow I need, so I guess I need to know how to:

1) Create a custom event (doc mentions extending QEvent, and somehow giving it an id above 1000 to designate it as a custom event)

2) serialize the event

3) send it on QCopChannel

4) deserialize the event