PDA

View Full Version : Extracting text from files (AKA I'm a newbie!)

mike phillips
22nd January 2009, 17:42
Complete beginner. Just starting with QT Creator and I wish to extract text from text files and do 'things' with it.

So far I am easy with C++ and can get the text file into cout. I can also access the lines sequentially into a Qmessagebox on my form using

void myQtApp::read()
{
char buffer [256];
ifstream myfile ("C:test.txt");
while (!myfile.eof())
{
myfile.getline (buffer,256);
QMessageBox::about(this,"About myQtApp",buffer);
}
}

which I have 'cobbled' together from various on-line sources

As a starter I wish to display the file contents in a textEdit box 'textEdit_2' on my form but cannot find a suitable form of words which will compile without some sort of error.

I would be most grateful for some light in the dark, and any pointers to a comprehensive online 'beginner's guide' to QT.

jpn
22nd January 2009, 17:46
See QFile and QTextStream. Make sure to read through the detailed description of each class.

mike phillips
22nd January 2009, 21:48
I appreciate the fast response, JPN - I had already read those but unfortunately found very little to help me at my stage of (lack of) 'understanding'. A hint of code would be very useful!

kazek3018
22nd January 2009, 22:58
From http://doc.trolltech.com/4.4/qfile.html -->

Reading Files Directly

The following example reads a text file line by line:

QFile file("in.txt");
if (!file.open(QIODevice::ReadOnly | QIODevice::Text))
return;

while (!file.atEnd()) {
QByteArray line = file.readLine();
process_line(line);
}

The QIODevice::Text flag passed to open() tells Qt to convert Windows-style line terminators ("\r\n") into C++-style terminators ("\n"). By default, QFile assumes binary, i.e. it doesn't perform any conversion on the bytes stored in the file.
Using Streams to Read Files

The next example uses QTextStream to read a text file line by line:

QFile file("in.txt");