PDA

View Full Version : Drawing and resizing shapes

jonnale
23rd January 2009, 02:38
Hello everyone,

I have been working with Qt for the past 3 or 4 months, but have never done anything that required drawing. I am now starting a project (for fun) which requires drawing and have a few questions.

Before I tackle the project, I want to play around with the basics. Here is what I want my pre-project program to do:

1.) User clicks "circle" button.
2.) User moves mouse over draw area
3.) User clicks and holds, and moves mouse to determine size of circle
4.) User releases mouse and circle is drawn

I would also like the user to be able to resize the circle after it has been drawn:
1.) User clicks circle
2.) Resize handles appear
3.) User clicks and drag resize handle to change size of circle

Now for this, I realize I need to use the mouse move event, however, my bigger problem is the resize handles. Would I have make a custom circle widget that has resize handles, or is their a built in method that can be used for displaying them? I know windows have a a QSizeGrip, but I am not sure how I would incorporate this into a widget.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!!
Jon

jpn
23rd January 2009, 13:28
I would suggest taking a look at the graphics view framework.

xgoan
23rd January 2009, 15:33
I have the same problem, and I have already looked in the documentation, but I have no idea of how can do this in a simple way.

jonnale
23rd January 2009, 17:19
I would suggest taking a look at the graphics view framework.

Thank you very much for this.

It seems like I will have to use a variety of methods, and ultimately use the transform() method to resize the item.

For the resize handles, I am still not positive, but it looks like I will use the bounding rectangle? This will probably work, but I am assuming it won't have the exact look I am aiming for (I like when the size grips have the little rectangles in the corners).