PDA

View Full Version : Custom tree view with checkbox and icon - Plz help

ttvo
26th January 2009, 23:23
Hi all,

I'm new to Qt and really need help with subclassing the QAbstractItemModel to create a custom tree with:
1) checkbox or radio button or nothing
2) icon
3) label1 - item name
4) label2 - which is a count of label1's children

See attached image. THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Trish

jpn
27th January 2009, 13:55
Qt item views support checkable items with icons out of the box. All you need is to create a QItemDelegate subclass to render the default check box as a radio button instead. You can use QStyle for that.

ttvo
11th February 2009, 00:14
Thanks. I currently have the following code

QStandardItemModel *model = new QStandardItemModel();
QStandardItem *parentItem = new QStandardItem(QIcon("C:\\dataset_small.png"), "Authors");
model->appendRow(parentItem);
QStandardItem *author1 = new QStandardItem(QIcon("C:\\dataset_small.png"), "Smith, V");
author1->setCheckable(true);
parentItem->appendRow(author1);
parentItem->appendRow(new QStandardItem(QIcon("C:\\dataset_small.png"), "Campbell, C"));
for (int i = 0; i < 3; ++i) {
QStandardItem *item = new QStandardItem(QIcon("C:\\dataset_small.png"), QString("Book # %0").arg(i+1));
item->setCheckable(true);
author1->insertRow(i, item);
}
ui.treeView->setModel(model);

producing the attached image. Remaining things are:
1) I like the checkbox for the author node, but I'd like to have the radio button for the book items to force only one book can be selected at the time. Could you please elaborate on the QItemDelegate?
2) I also want to have a count of children next to the labels meaning I want to have a "2" next to the "Authors" string (since there are 2 authors) and a "3" next to "Smith, V" because he has 3 books

jpn
11th February 2009, 11:57