PDA

View Full Version : Usage of the Debugger!!



Kapil
18th April 2006, 10:53
Hi...

I have created an application in the debug mode.. the .exe is being created.. Now i want to run the debugger and check the execution of each statement of my code, (very similar to the way we do it in VC++)... how do i do that... how do i get to debug my code ie use the debugger????

Thank you,
Kapil

jacek
18th April 2006, 13:04
What debugger do you have?

Kapil
18th April 2006, 13:46
Hi,
Thanks for the reply....

I am using QT 4.1.0 with MinGW open source version...

I do not have any linux debuggers installed..

For Windows i use VC++ and it has its own debugger...

I hope i have not missed on any information..

Thank you,

with regards,
Kapil

dimitri
18th April 2006, 16:23
You need a debugger, such as GDB (http://mingw.sourceforge.net/download.shtml). You'll probably not find it as user-friendly as Microsoft's integrated debugger though.

jacek
18th April 2006, 16:29
GDB docs are here: http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/documentation/

shad
18th April 2006, 16:31
try Eclipse (http://www.eclipse.org) - it is very beatuful (and powerfull) IDE both for windows and linux, and it transparent integrates gdb debugger, so you can use debugger just like in VC++. however it has a few annoying bugs.

Kapil
18th April 2006, 16:57
try Eclipse (http://www.eclipse.org) - it is very beatuful (and powerfull) IDE both for windows and linux, and it transparent integrates gdb debugger, so you can use debugger just like in VC++. however it has a few annoying bugs.


Hi...

I would love to use Eclipse but can QT be integrated with Eclipse and if yes then how to do it.. Once i had tried but failed in doing the same...
I would be very thankful to you if you could tell me the same...

Kapil

Kapil
19th April 2006, 12:18
Hi,

Is it possible to use QT over Eclipse.. ie integration of QT & Eclipse like QT & VC++ or QT & Visual .net...
It would of real help to me..
Thank you,
Kapil

shad
19th April 2006, 18:26
no, the same integration as QT+VC++ is not possible, i.e. you won't be able to use qt designed inside eclipse. But auto-generation of make files from .pro will be available, and you will be able to use standalone QTDesigner and to create and edit .pro from eclipse text editor.

Kapil
20th April 2006, 05:48
no, the same integration as QT+VC++ is not possible, i.e. you won't be able to use qt designed inside eclipse. But auto-generation of make files from .pro will be available, and you will be able to use standalone QTDesigner and to create and edit .pro from eclipse text editor.

hi,

so this means that compiling and executing of the code can be done via the ECLIPSE.. its just the design which would be made externally... Is it so????
Doubt is that will the exe be created using ECLIPSE and not MinGW (am using it currently)..
and auto generation of makefiles in ECLIPSE ???? i had used it once and then had to create is myself i.e. manually... how can this be achieved.. like do u have to set some parameters in the .pro file or what...

if you can provide me with some doc to help me out on this issue, it would be very helpful to me...

Kapil