PDA

View Full Version : qTwitter



ayoy
21st February 2009, 16:25
qTwitter is a Qt client for Twitter (http://twitter.com) social networking service. Current version is 0.3.1, and it seems working quite well :). More info is available here (http://www.qt-apps.org/content/show.php/qTwitter?content=99087) and the code is available here (http://github.com/ayoy/qtwitter).

It's my first publically released app, and I really do appreciate any kind of feedback on it.

Thanks,
Dominik

srohit24
24th March 2009, 04:52
mate, i have downloaded the windowsversion of the app and it works fine.

its really cool to have a app that takes care of all your tweets.

Nice one :D

I am not able to downlaod the source files, I get the following page.



Page does not exist! Read the Full Documentation

Instructions for setting up username.github.com *

Create a repo named username.github.com
Push a `master` branch to GitHub and enjoy!


Instructions for setting up username.github.com/repo-name *
Caution: make your working directory clean before you do this (either stash or commit), otherwise this will lose any changes you've made to your project since the last commit.

cd /path/to/repo-name
git symbolic-ref HEAD refs/heads/gh-pages
rm .git/index
git clean -fdx
echo "My GitHub Page" > index.html
git add .
git commit -a -m "First pages commit"
git push origin gh-pages

WARNING: All pages (even those created on private repos) will be publicly viewable

* It may take up to 10 minutes to activate GitHub Pages for your account


How can i get the code??

ayoy
24th March 2009, 17:52
Hey!

Thanks for the feedback. It happens sometimes that github fails... The simplest solution is to give it a try once again in some time. Or you can use the clone command directly:


git clone git://github.com/ayoy/qtwitter.git

or just download the source code package from qt-apps.org (http://www.qt-apps.org/content/show.php/qTwitter?content=99087), but this is the latest release version (0.5.0), and a lot has changed since then :)

srohit24
24th March 2009, 18:18
i have signed up to qit. but its completely new to me.

can you explain how to clone your code?

I need to know how to handle http request as i am also working on a project that can talk to a API. can you give tell me how to do that?

I would be grateful to ur help.

thanks

ayoy
24th March 2009, 18:32
i have signed up to qit. but its completely new to me.

can you explain how to clone your code?

Sure, if you want to use git, first install it, and then use the command I provided in a previous post:


git clone git://github.com/ayoy/qtwitter.git

This command will create a directory called qtwitter and put the source code inside. That's all :) Since github.com seems to be working fine now, you can skip the whole git thing and just download the sources using the "download" button at http://github.com/ayoy/qtwitter/tree/master.


I need to know how to handle http request as i am also working on a project that can talk to a API. can you give tell me how to do that?


Take a look at the twitterapi directory. It contains all the classes responsible for contacting with Twitter and parsing the response. Should you come up with any problems, don't hesitate to contact me here or via private message.
And sorry, but for the moment we speak I don't recommend generating and reading the doxygen documentation for my project, since I changed a lot in API interaction section during the previous week and now I have to revise the documentation and I'm going to do it soon ;)

srohit24
24th March 2009, 18:50
thanks for replying.

git is still isnt working for me :(

I will try the other method then.

I wanted to ask as to how did you built a static application?

Whenever build a app and run it in a diff system, it asks for a lot of dll's( i use win XP)

I tried CONFIG +=static

but it didnot improve.

ayoy
24th March 2009, 21:43
As for qTwitter, for the most fresh, trunk version of code I don't actually create a static builds at all, because I'm switching to LGPL. For 0.5.0, available here (http://files.ayoy.net/qtwitter/release/0.5.0/src/qtwitter-0.5.0-src.tar.gz), in the source code's main directory there is a patch that you need to apply before running qmake. It just uncomments two lines in project file that specify plugins that are used, and then 2 lines in main.cpp that load those plugins. Provided that you have a statically linked Qt installed, everything should work fine after applying the patch.

But in general, CONFIG += static is not required here as it's suitable only for building libraries. And important note for Windows and MinGW - make sure that you follow the instructions from wiki: Building_static_applications and Building_static_Qt_on_Windows. If you use MinGW, you have to edit mkspecs file in order to make your applications independent of MinGW dlls.