PDA

View Full Version : How to draw vertical text via QTextEdit

nifei
24th February 2009, 04:52
hi, i need to draw text in both vertical layout and horizontal layout. like

aamer4yu
24th February 2009, 05:31
If your drawing yourself, you can rotate the painter , easiest way i guess :)

nifei
24th February 2009, 05:54
If your drawing yourself, you can rotate the painter , easiest way i guess :)

I want to draw the text from top to bottom on QTextDocument and call QTextCocument : : drawContents(QPainter *).

BTW, what is the relationship between QTextDocument, QTextEdit, QTextFormat and QTextTable/ QTextList , .etc? I'm new to these classes.

jryannel
24th February 2009, 08:46
As the previous poster said, use rotate the painter. Look in the analog clock example for how todo this.

In Qt instead of rotating/scaling (e.g. transforming) objects, we transform the painter. It's much easier like this as soon as you get used to;-)

This might also help you:
- http://doc.trolltech.com/qq/qq24-textlayouts.html

- Juergen

nifei
24th February 2009, 09:26
As the previous poster said, use rotate the painter. Look in the analog clock example for how todo this.

In Qt instead of rotating/scaling (e.g. transforming) objects, we transform the painter. It's much easier like this as soon as you get used to;-)

This might also help you:
- http://doc.trolltech.com/qq/qq24-textlayouts.html

- Juergen

Thanks for your suggestion and the linked article, that is a little complicated for my project. May be rotate QPainter is the only way to draw vertical text. I supposed to edit the whole text via QTextDocument and render them to QPainter, if rotating/translating the QPainter, all the text will be rotated or translated.

i think i have to draw the contents of QTextDocument twice, once drawing horizontal text, then rotating the QPainter and drawing the vertical text. is that right?

wagmare
24th February 2009, 09:41