PDA

View Full Version : Problem with QVFB

evinay
26th February 2009, 03:51
Hi,

I am new to Qt. I am developing a simple application using Qt. I want the exe to be displayed on the qvfb. But i am getting the following error:

"_X11TransSocketINETConnect() can't get address for QVFb:6000: Name or service not known
simplecalc: cannot connect to X server QVFb:0"

These were my installation steps:
cd /to qt-x11-opensource-src-4.4.3
./configure -qvfb
make
make install

I set the evnvironment variables as mentioned in the installation steps in the trolltech site.
The installation was successful without any errors.

I then went inside the tools/qvfb within the above mentioned directory.

make
make install

I developed a simple calculator application using Qt designer tool. Made an exe and it was succcessful without any errors. I could successfully display it on the X11 widow.

I went inside /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/bin/ and ran qvfb.
I ran my application as :
simplecalc -qws -display QVFb:0

But it threw an error:
_X11TransSocketINETConnect() can't get address for QVFb:6000: Name or service not known
simplecalc: cannot connect to X server QVFb:0

Please help.
:(

wysota
26th February 2009, 08:29
Why do you need qvfb with a desktop installation? You said you passed -qvfb to configure - are you sure you are using the desktop release of Qt? My source bundle doesn't have such option...

evinay
26th February 2009, 16:27
Yes i am using a desktop installation. The link from where i downloaded is:

ftp://ftp.trolltech.no/qt/source/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.4.3.tar.gz

Is qvfb used only with Qt-embedded?
And do i have to develop the application in Qtopia core to run in qvfb?

Thanks in advance.

wysota
26th February 2009, 21:14
But why do you need qvfb in the first place?

evinay
27th February 2009, 05:06
I am trying to see how the GUI looks on an embedded platform. But I dont have the platform yet.

Thanks in advance.

wysota
27th February 2009, 08:41