PDA

View Full Version : lgpl license and commercial software..

tgreaves
6th March 2009, 20:29
Im a programmer, not a lawyer.. Whats the deal with the new lgpl license?

1. Can I create commercial(closed source) software and sell it using the lgpl version of Qt?
2. If I can sell it, Do I have provide the actual Qt toolkit source with it?

From what I have gathered, I can sell my closed source software but I have to include the sourcecode for the Qt toolkit its self and not the source for my program.. Sound right?

ComaWhite
7th March 2009, 02:07
You can sell software with LGPL. And no you don't have to give away the source. you can if you want. The only thing is you have to provide the dynamically link to the library no statically linked.

radek.z
9th March 2009, 09:59
Hi,
isn't it like that you can use Qt with your commercial software which can be source closed but you have to provide the source code for the Qt library you did?

tgreaves
9th March 2009, 14:02
You can sell software with LGPL. And no you don't have to give away the source. you can if you want. The only thing is you have to provide the dynamically link to the library no statically linked.

Understood..

Its dynamic linking where you use the dll's outside of your program and distribute them with your .exe program?

And static linking is where you compile the dll's into your .exe file.. Correct?

Lykurg
9th March 2009, 14:27
Its dynamic linking where you use the dll's outside of your program and distribute them with your .exe program?

And static linking is where you compile the dll's into your .exe file.. Correct?

Yes, and of course the dll have to be the original ones of Qt, no modified.

tgreaves
9th March 2009, 14:33
Awesome.. Do I have to put some agreement for installing my program that states that im using the lgpl license of Qt?

krystosan
4th January 2013, 14:34
Understood..