PDA

View Full Version : New to QMutex

durbrak
12th March 2009, 18:39
Hello there,

I'm new to the whole Multithreaded programming and I'm having issues.

functions.h

namespace Functions
{
bool existsInDB(int id);
}functions.cpp

#include "functions.h"
#include <QMutex>
#include [...]

QMutex mutex(QMutex::Recursive);

bool Functions::existsInDB(int id)
{
static QList<int> cache;

QMutexLocker lock(&mutex);

if(cached.contains(id))
return true;
else
{
cached.append(id);

QSqlQuery query;
query.prepare("SELECT COUNT(id) FROM customers WHERE id=?;");
query.addBindValue(id);
query.exec();
query.next();

return (query.value(0).toInt() > 0)
}
}

Now I have a subclass of QThread:

void myThread::run()
{
bool exists = Functions::existsInDB(data->id);
if(exists) {...}
}

As you can see it calls existsInDB(). Now in the main-thread (GUI-Thread) there a sometimes also calls to existsInDB() which causes the following errors to occur in the console (can't remember the exact words):

QSqlQuery::value not positioned on a valid row

If I remove the existsInDB() call in the GUI thread the error disappears. If I remove the existsInDB() call in myThread the error also disappears. So I guess the problem is that both threads are trying to access that function at the same time or something but I can't wrap my head around that whole QMutex story and how to make it work? Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thank you.

wysota
12th March 2009, 21:25
You can't use the same database connection from threads other than that where it was created. The design is incorrect - each thread needs its own database connection (and of course the mutex won't be needed anymore).

durbrak
12th March 2009, 21:40
Ahh, thank you wysota. I didn't even know each thread needs its own database connection.
But I don't quite understand how I am supposed to rewrite my code. The function is used by both threads (they share the data in static QList<int> cache;).