PDA

View Full Version : QFileDialog getSaveFileName() doesn't prompt overwrite file confirmation?

nonadoes
10th April 2009, 05:29
hey guys,

I'm new to Qt. Anyway, i wanted to use QFileDialog to save file into a directory. So if the file exist before and it should prompt the whether to overwrite msg.

from what i read, it seems that the overwrite msg is automatically enabled already?
but mine didn't prompt the msg. Any idea guys?

Below is my sample code:

QString filePath = QFileDialog::getSaveFileName(NULL, tr("CSV files (*.csv)"), this, NULL, tr("Export To"));

if(filePath.isEmpty())
return;

if(filePath.find(".csv") == -1)
filePath += ".csv";

Thanx

wysota
10th April 2009, 07:51
The dialog will not ask to confirm overwrite if the file that exists contains some extension and you enter the same base name but without the extension. For the filesystem these are two different files. If you're adding the extension manually, you also have to manually ask for overwrite confirmation.

nonadoes
10th April 2009, 09:31
The dialog will not ask to confirm overwrite if the file that exists contains some extension and you enter the same base name but without the extension. For the filesystem these are two different files. If you're adding the extension manually, you also have to manually ask for overwrite confirmation.

Yes, i understand if the extension wasn't there then the system will treat it as a different files. But i did try to key in the extension in the QFileDialog. It also never prompt the overwrite msg box.

As you can see i manually add ".csv" extension after getting the filename because i'm unable to get the filepath + extension together from the QFileDialog. As i read around this forum, one person mention is not built in into QFileDialog rite?

So now, how do i solve this?

nonadoes
10th April 2009, 11:14
how to manually ask for overwrite confirmation..i mean how to check the files exist or not?

wysota
10th April 2009, 14:43