PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - experiences with Qt

masoroso
3rd May 2006, 09:38
Hi all,

Here a short story on my Qt experiences as a complete Qt newbie.

The start
I am a geotechnical engineer and not so content with the software that is available because it is only available for Windows. I decided to write my own software for small tasks and it should be platform independent. I compared loads of libraries but because of the documentation and the professional Qt website I decided to use Qt. This was the start of qGEF, my first Qt based application that should be able to read GEF files which are used to graphically display the results of so called Cone Penetration Tests (CPT).

The problems
This is not my first application as I wrote a lot of applications using Delphi (from version 5 up to 2003). So what do you do if you switch to Qt... you look for an IDE :) I had no luck with an IDE (too buggy, no Qt support etc. etc.) so I fell back to Emacs, a console and QtDesigner and it gave me less problems than I expected.

QtDesigner is very user friendly though it's layout system is not so easy to understand if you are used to Borland's alClient, alLeft alignment options. In my opinion QtDesigner forces you to think of the layout in advance and not while you are playing with the RAD because it is more difficult to change the layout at a later phase. Overall I still have difficulty with the layout system but the examples are great and very helpful and so far I still manage to get it the way I want it to be. Implementing the ui file in a project was very easy again thanks to the great documentation.