PDA

View Full Version : (probably newbie) Windows Mobile 5 questions

zeldaknight
25th April 2009, 01:20
Hey guys,
I'm trying to create an application for a friend's PocketPC (running WM5). It's a word processing application, a bit better than my friend's version of Word. However I'm only a newbie to Qt and though I've got most of it to work (on Windows anyway ... haven't tried building it yet ...) there are a few things that I'm not sure of:

Can you make it so that there is a mode where you can write on the screen and it will pick up the letters? You can do this in PocketWord but I don't know how easy it would be to implement with Qt (or has QTopia got something ... anyway is QTopia only for Embedded Linux or can it do WinMobile now:p?)
On my friend's PPC, you can turn the screen horizontal or vertical. Is there a way I can check which orientation the screen is in so I can juggle the layout of my widgets?
This one isn't really to do with PPC at all, but I am trying to make insertion and deletion of columns in a table in a QTextEdit. Is there an easy way to do this - the only way I can think of is to look through the HTML for an opening and closing table tag, look for the row and cell tags and act on them ... even that I'm not sure how to implement ... :confused:

wysota
25th April 2009, 07:04
Can you make it so that there is a mode where you can write on the screen and it will pick up the letters? You can do this in PocketWord but I don't know how easy it would be to implement with Qt (or has QTopia got something ... anyway is QTopia only for Embedded Linux or can it do WinMobile now:p?)
You have to change the input method so that native scribbling capabilities for Mobile are activated. I don't have Windows Mobile so unfortunately I can't tell you how to do it.

On my friend's PPC, you can turn the screen horizontal or vertical. Is there a way I can check which orientation the screen is in so I can juggle the layout of my widgets?