PDA

View Full Version : Using the standard library with qt creator

DragonLance156156
20th May 2009, 20:10
So i'm just learning to program with C++ (hoping to program with qt eventually) and I decided that I would try using the qt creator's code editor. However, the editor says that the standard library headers are non-existant, even though I can compile my programs just fine using terminal. (i'm on a mac) I was just wondering if there was a way to remedy this so I can run my programs in qt creator. I am asumming there is a file path that the editor is looking for them in and it cannot find them. Any help would be great.

lyuts
21st May 2009, 08:25
If you want others to help you you need to be more specific. Show us code, the instructions how did you try to compile it in Qt Creator and in terminal, error output, all possible information.

DragonLance156156
22nd May 2009, 06:13
OK I guess that my first post was a little wordy so I'll just get to the point. Why does the Qt creator not find the standard library headers when you try to use them. Eg:

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <stdexcept>
#inlcude <vector>
all these preprocessor directives get little squiggly red lines under them and if you hover over it the tool tip says "No such file or directory"

What I want to know is where the directory that Qt creator is looking in for these libraries in is so I can add the standard library files. All I want to do is be able to hit the run button and have my program work. Btw, I just opened my .cpp file with qt creator I have no project file.

EDIT: I put my code into the main.cpp generated when I make a Qt console application project (in place of generated code), ran the program and it did everything right until I tried to input something and