PDA

View Full Version : how to enable hot spotting in QTableWidget.

AviMittal
25th May 2009, 10:09
Hi

I am pretty new to Qt and using Qt 4.4.3 over linux. I am building an application where i am displaying the grid data in QtableWidget.
My application demands when ever a mouse pointer comes over a cell in QTableWidget some tool tip ( for the cell) should be displayed. Each row of table is having a unique set of User record. So i can achieve the same by adding a slot on signal QTableWidget::cellEntered(int,int). But for that i need to know the cell position i.e row,col. Which QT retrieves for signal "cellEntered()". So i wanted to know is there any way to get this row-col position from this signal?

Thanks

wysota
25th May 2009, 19:59
Take a look at QTableWidgetItem::setToolTip.

AviMittal
26th May 2009, 05:52
hey thnx for rplying. But my problem is how to get the cell position from QTableWidget::cellEntered(int, int) signal?

aamer4yu
26th May 2009, 09:50
You mean cordinates ?
Have a look at QAbstractItemView::visualRect

AviMittal
26th May 2009, 12:00
not the coordinates. By cell position i mean that ( row, column) position of cell.

faldzip
26th May 2009, 12:10
hmm isn't arguments passed by cellEntered(int, int) the row and column of the entered cell?

AviMittal
26th May 2009, 13:13
I think you didnt get my problem. Let me elaborate more:

QTableWidget has one signal cellEntered(int row, int col). This signal is emitted when the mouse cursor enters a cell. The cell is specified by row and column, that qt itself finds out. But it doesn't return that row-col value to user.

So my problem is when "cellEntered(int,int) signal is emitted i need to find the cell's row-col position so that i can attach appropriate tooltip with that.

aamer4yu
26th May 2009, 13:34
How are you connecting the signal to your slot ??
From the slot you can use the row/column...
Say you have connected -