PDA

View Full Version : Adding a Progress bar

srohit24
27th May 2009, 08:13
Hi

I have built a app that needs about 25 seconds to complete the execution(it needs to read from a device)

When its executing, my app window just goes white.

I want to add a progress bar to indicate how many seconds are left before it completes executing.

I have added the progess bar in the ui design, but i have no idea as tohow to call it in my function and display % left befor completion.

i have used this only.

ui->progressBar->reset();
ui->progressBar->setRange(0,100);
ui->progressBar->setValue(50);

I have added the last command, in the function that needs 25 seconds, but as the app freezes, the increment is not shown.

I have seen the documentation, but it doesnt actually help me as to how my progress bar should look like. i am new to Qt, so i am hoping someone can help.

I need a progress bar, that keeps increasing from 0% to 5% to 10% and so on till 100 is reached and in 25 seconds. A constant moving bar.

When the control goes inside the function, all the ui commands in there arent shown in realtime. i.e. the execution is not shown as the app has only a white screen.

can anybody help?

thanks

pospiech
27th May 2009, 09:25
call update() on the widget (in your case the progressbar) to make sure your changes are updated directly.

aamer4yu
27th May 2009, 09:38
Either use threads for the heavy computing..
or call qApp->processEvents() from your heavy computation loop...

wagmare
27th May 2009, 10:23
Hi

I need a progress bar, that keeps increasing from 0% to 5% to 10% and so on till 100 is reached and in 25 seconds. A constant moving bar.

i cant make QProgreeBar update in a regular fashion but htis code will be useful for u ..
use timer ..

timer = new QTimer();
timer->start(5000);
connect(timer, SIGNAL(timeout()), this, SLOT(updateProgressBar()));

in update updateProgressBar slot

::updateProgressBar(){
int curVal = progressbar->value();
if(curVal == 100){
timer->stop();