PDA

View Full Version : Qt4, slow on windows ?

eto.ethome.sk
27th May 2009, 14:39
Hello,

I am completely new to this, and this is my first post here, so please don't bite me.

I have relatively lame machine, Athlon XP 14000 but with 3 GBs of RAM.
I also 25'' 16:10 LCD monitor with 1920x1200 resolution connected to this piece of junk.

What I want to say with all that, is that I know the processor is highly underpowered for such system.

After some time I learned how to spot when the app gets into CPU bound state on this machine. No swapping, everything gets just more slowly and you can see the culprit slowly drawing windows from top to bottom.

I downloaded QtSDK with QtCreator and when using it, I can literally see how the screen is painted, mostly when maximized. From examples I compiled so far, the spreadsheet is the worst. When maximized there is easily visible lag until parts of its window get refreshed in when uncovered by other applications.

I thought first, that this is caused by my lame point and click compiling with LGPL version of Qt, but I have Pencil and VLC player installed and after observing them thoroughly, I realized you can see the same happening with them, although on smaller scale.
Even when Pencil is pretty responsive when drawing to canvas, you can see same slowness and artifacts during the time you maximize it to fullscreen. Substantial lags can be detected in the mainwindow example too.

So I started running my pure windows apps and watch their behavior. Nor old Paint Shop Pro 6 nor Foobar2000 nor anything purely Win32 I use ( like Notepad++ ) is so slow compared to Qt from what I have tried, not even when maximised to fullscreen.