PDA

View Full Version : New to forum with some questions.

kd0afk
21st June 2009, 16:22
I am VERY new to programming with QT but I played around with basic many many years ago so please bear with me. I really like QT. It is a noobs dream.

I am wanting to do something that I think will be pretty simple. I would like to design a form that takes input from the user, takes those numbers, does some math and retrieves blocks of text and prints those blocks of text.
For instance, If I were to have a line edit and the user puts the number 5 into the box. The program would take that number and multiply it by 5, 10 and 20. The program would then return blocks of text (the resultant of the math will be in bold) like so:

-Hello, Johny went to the store and spent $25 on food.
-Johnny also spent $50 on gum.
Johnny spent $100 on lottery tickets.

I know that allot of it will be a regular "print" function. I want to have the blocks of text stored somewhere where they can be retrieved and the resultant numbers inserted into the blocks of text at the appropriate places and printed.

Can someone help me out on how to do this.
Thanks

QPlace
21st June 2009, 17:13
What you are asking people here to do is essentially to replace 30 mins of your own reading of Qt reference materials under "core feature" section with somebody's interpretation of the documents. To the exception of Mr. Wisota and several other "high-end" Qt experts on this forum, you are risking a chance that these comments will be of less quality then excellent documentation that comes with Qt.