PDA

View Full Version : What is Qt Creator?

impeteperry
23rd June 2009, 02:38
Is this the standard Qt development like the Qt-4.xx that I've been using for several years or is this Nokia contribution?

Thanks

ChrisW67
23rd June 2009, 03:07
It is the IDE that is now available from Nokia.
http://www.qtsoftware.com/products/appdev/developer-tools/developer-tools

Lykurg
23rd June 2009, 07:10
or is this Nokia contribution?
As I remember right, the development of Qt Creator was started before Nokia take over. But anyway, what means "Nokia contribution"? There are still the same persons developing Qt and Nokia have not so much influence...

impeteperry
23rd June 2009, 13:31
Thanks, I'm in my 80's and I seen a lot of "take-overs" where the direction of a company has been altered by others who didn't know what the original developers new. I'm glad this isn't the case here.

I have writen a couple of Qt programs and am currently in the midst of a major program for the precast concrete industry. Would Qt Creator be of siginificant use to me. I am a very slow learner.

Lykurg
23rd June 2009, 13:54
I am a very slow learner.
Huh, considering your age, I wouldn't say so! I'm impressed, that you still go on programming and be interested in new things.

Regarding the creator, it is just a code editor. So there are no really advantages. Only that it provides a nice way of easy debugging, code completition, easy accessing the documentation etc. But all that is not necessary and with the assistant and designer you already have wonderfull tools, and changing the window to see the documentation is not so much work.