PDA

View Full Version : Software Updater



NoRulez
29th July 2009, 10:04
Hey @all,

I'm working on a software updater. The download and so on works fine. My Problem is to install the downloaded application from within the current/old application.
As system i use mac, linux and windows but the higher priority is on windows.

Can anybody give me a hint on how to do so?

Thanks in advance

Best Regards
NoRulez

yogeshgokul
29th July 2009, 10:06
Run your installer.exe using QProcess.

NoRulez
29th July 2009, 10:27
The problem is that i can't replace the executeable and the dll's.

Best Regards
NoRulez

yogeshgokul
29th July 2009, 10:41
The problem is that i can't replace the executeable and the dll's.

This is bit tricky, you have to use


QProcess::startDetached();

Call this function and immediately quits from your main process. Then the installer should take care of replacing the executable and dlls.

NoRulez
29th July 2009, 10:46
OK thanks, I will give it a try.

Best Regards
NoRulez