PDA

View Full Version : qvfb



henk
3rd August 2009, 14:32
I am trying to set up qt for embedded linux on ubuntu 904 server on vmware player.

I have installed the fullowing sources properly.

QT-4.5.1 and QtEmbedded-4.5.2-arm

as the installation instruction say.

every thing looks ok, I can run comand line tools like qmake, qvfb, qtdemo etc...

but I couldn't run any sample program in the virtual framebuffer.

I get the following errors:

./framebuffer -qws -display QVFb:0
Error: cannot open framebuffer device: No such file or directory

or

./analogclock -qws -display QVFb:0
analogclock: cannot connect to X server QVFb:0


and btw.. I couldnt find andy device file called fb0 on my system.

do I need to install qt core also?

any comment will be appreciated.;)
henk

augusbas
4th August 2009, 05:06
Hi,

You'll need to create the framebuffer device in /dev.

You need one per framebuffer device, so all you need to do is to type in mknod /dev/fb0 c <major number> <minor number>

get the details of major and minor number...

The above resource i got through web ...or go through this link

http://doc.trolltech.com/4.2/qtopiacore-qvfb.html

henk
4th August 2009, 07:35
----------------------------

henk
4th August 2009, 07:37
hi augusbas

tanks for the replay.

I have checked out the major and minor numbers and created two frame buffers fb0 and fb1.
I have some misunderstanding also with the display setting. which value to give for who. like: QWS_DISPLAY =
DISPLAY =
were to mention the path "/dev/fb0"

regards,
henk :cool:

augusbas
4th August 2009, 09:55
hi augusbas

tanks for the replay.

I have checked out the major and minor numbers and created two frame buffers fb0 and fb1.
I have some misunderstanding also with the display setting. which value to give for who. like: QWS_DISPLAY =
DISPLAY =
were to mention the path "/dev/fb0"

regards,
henk :cool:

Don't worry about display setting now , it will use its default setting

Try to run any application for example..

./Analaogclock -qws in one terminal and try ./qvfb in another terminal ...See whether the application is running.

henk
4th August 2009, 11:06
Don't worry about display setting now , it will use its default setting

Try to run any application for example..

./Analaogclock -qws in one terminal and try ./qvfb in another terminal ...See whether the application is running.

hm...
actually I am re configureing the Qt/X11 with ./configure -qvfb option.
..

./qvfb do nto work but just qvfb open the virtual framebuffer
and when I run ./analogclock_back -qws on other terminal
i get the following error
bash: ./analogclock_back: cannot execute binary file

but when I copy the whole sample file to another directory and run qmake to create a Makefile and run the make command it will re-create the binary file. This time it will run but not in the virtual framebuffer even-though I give -qws option.
:confused:
I appreciate all help provided.
this is my second week on this.. :)

henk
5th August 2009, 06:18
do u need any more info...?

pls help

axeljaeger
9th August 2009, 16:16
You cant use an X11 Qt together with the framebuffer. You will however need a QVFB executable that you can build from the desktop Qt and then use a Qt embedded to connect to that framebuffer.

So you need both: Qt x11: Build it, use the qvfb executable from here. Qt embedded: Use this to build the application that shall use the frame buffer.