PDA

View Full Version : Imitating a ComboBox

metalinspired
14th August 2009, 22:35
Hi all. My first post here :)
I'm trying to "imitate" a combo box. Original combo doesn't cut it and I can't achieve what I need by sublassing it so I decided to make one. I used a QLineEdit and putted a QToolButton in it. It works fine but there’s one thing bothering me. Button height is 4 pixels smaller than that of line edit. Thus if a user puts his mouse over a frame of line edit, that can be seen below and above button, the mouse pointer will change to text cursor. I figure I could simply put some sort of rect behind button that will have the same height like line edit, be transparent and will do nothing except stop mouse pointer from changing. I tried, and tried but nothing that came across my mind worked. Maybe because I'm a beginner in QT :)

Boron
15th August 2009, 13:37
You did not mention why you don't use QComboBox. You write "Original combo doesn't cut it". Cut what? Cut the text if it is too long?
Maybe QComboBox can do what you want, but you just didn't find it.

metalinspired
15th August 2009, 14:45
You did not mention why you don't use QComboBox. You write "Original combo doesn't cut it". Cut what? Cut the text if it is too long?
Maybe QComboBox can do what you want, but you just didn't find it.

By "doesn't cut it" I meant I didn't find a way to achieve what I had in mind mostly because I’m a beginner :D I need a user to be able to enter text while list of possible choices is displayed as a drop-down list. With a combo when you show the drop down list you can’t enter anything until list is closed. I tried using QCompleter. But couldn’t get it to show the current completion as selected. It just puts a doted frame around current completion.

axeljaeger
16th August 2009, 10:05
You can have a look in the QtCreator sourcecode for the special lineedit bottom left of the mainwindow. It does autocomplete while you are typing.