PDA

View Full Version : Slot gets called twice

greatgatsby
20th August 2009, 12:31
Hi, I'm a 10+ year C++ programmer but n3wb to Qt...

I've successfully installed the Qt 4.5.2 SDK (MinGW g++) but, since I primarily use VC++, also installed the VS2008 plugin and built the Qt 4.5.2 sources for VC++ in a separate directory. After fixing some Environmental Values/Paths issues between the 2 Qt now works fine under both compilers/IDEs.

I've made some simple test programs to try out Qt, but noticed that my custom slots always gets called twice for a single signal - and it happens in both IDEs

In QtDesigner I add a signal/slot to a QPushButton where the Sender is the QPushButton (signal is clicked()) and the Receiver a custom slot (called on_pbAdd_clicked()) on my form class derived form QDialog.

Since QtDesigner does not automatically generate the slots anymore, I've declared the slots like this:

class Dialog : public QDialog
{
Q_OBJECT
public:
Dialog(QWidget *parent = 0, Qt::WFlags flags = 0);
~Dialog();
private:
Ui::DialogClass ui;
public slots:
virtual void on_pbAdd_clicked(void);
virtual void on_pbRemove_clicked(void);
};

The slot is implemented like this:

void Dialog::on_pbAdd_clicked(void)
{
if(ui.leEdit->text().length() > 0) {
}
}

I've tried to debug the issue: When the button is clicked one of the void QMetaObject::activate(...) functions in qobject.cpp gets called, specifically:

void QMetaObject::activate(QObject *sender, int from_signal_index, int to_signal_index, void **argv)
{
int count = connectionLists->at(signal).count();
for (int i = 0; i < count; ++i) {
const QObjectPrivate::Connection *c = &connectionLists->at(signal)[i];
receiver->qt_metacall(QMetaObject::InvokeMetaMethod, method, argv ? argv : empty_argv);
}
}