PDA

View Full Version : QProgressBar chunk edges goes out of bounds

lupo
4th September 2009, 06:03
Hi all,

First of all I have to say that I'm totally new to Qt and GUI design (a few days only indeed :) ). So please forgive my poor style and silly question. I have this issue on Qt 4.5.2 embedded version, however since I do not think it's related to embedded, I'm posting it here.

My problem is, I need a progress bar with rounded ends (totally circular ends with radius equal to half height of the bar) but I couldn't manage to make it appear the way I want. Setting the radius for progressbar ends is straight forward and the progressbar itself has the shape I want. However, the chunk of the progressbar keeps its rectangular shape and goes out of bounds at both left and right ends. Is there a way to keep those chunk-ends somehow underneath or transparent?

You could probably suggest giving radius to chunk borders as well. It solves some parts of the issue but brings in some other issues too :( If I do that, for small values of progress bar fill-ratio (let's say 4%), chunk still has a rectangular shape rather than rounded:( Probably it cannot complete the circle for such a big radius with such a low size or something like that.

I have also tried changing chunk width but it didn't work either.

Hopefully there is a better answer than placing a mask image on the progress bar with transparent center and opaque ends. So, what are your suggestions?

For your reference, I have also copy-pasted the stylesheet part of Qt Designer and size settings of the containing widget & progressbar itself.

Thank you very much for your help in advance.

QProgressBar { background-color: rgb(161, 161, 161); border: 2px solid grey; border-radius: 25px; color: rgb(255, 255, 255); text-align: right; margin-right: 4ex; }
QProgressBar::chunk { background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255); border-top-left-radius: 23px; border-bottom-left-radius: 23px; width: 1px }