PDA

View Full Version : QGraphicsItem and OpenGL textures

Aldebaran
17th September 2009, 14:25
Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to QT and maybe this is a newbie question. I hope you can forgive me if that's the case.

I'm writing a application with a diagram editor and I need to display OGL textures in it. At the moment, I roughly follow this process: create a QImage from the texture data, convert this QImage to a QPixmap and use this pixmap in a QGraphicsPixmapItem. This is awfully expensive and inefficient. Any alternatives?

Should I make my custom QGraphicsItems class and write my own paint() routine using opengl calls?

Thank you.

scascio
17th September 2009, 15:10
You ca set the viewport of your QGraphicsView to use OpenGL with these instructions :

setViewport(new QGLWidget(QGLFormat(QGL::SampleBuffers)));

The QGLWiget can also be derived and therefore respond to the GL events, initializeGL, paintGL, ... but I dont know much about it.

Then to optimize you texture drawing with a QGraphicsItem, you can derive one and overload the paint event in wich you can draw directly from QImage into QPainter.
But I don't think this will be better once the image is loaded into the QGraphicsPixmapItem.

S.Cascio

Aldebaran
18th September 2009, 11:38
I already set the viewport to use OpenGL and speed up the rendering.

Then to optimize you texture drawing with a QGraphicsItem, you can derive one and overload the paint event in wich you can draw directly from QImage into QPainter.
But I don't think this will be better once the image is loaded into the QGraphicsPixmapItem

I don't want to create a QImage or a QPixmap if I don't need to. Can I draw the loaded OGL texture overloading the paint event of a QGraphicsItem and using OGL calls? Do I have to make my custom QGLWidget and add it to the scene?

scascio
18th September 2009, 15:22
In a QLWidget you can make OGL calls. I have no experience on it but the doc may show yiou the way.