PDA

View Full Version : Need advice for a best way to make this application

frenk_castle
23rd September 2009, 15:49
I tried to be specific and provide enough details. If I wrote to much I apologize. If post is in the wrong forum section please move it to appropriate one.

I need your help writing an application. I don’t what you to do job for me just read my ideas and help me find the best, easiest, way to do it. I have moderate experience with C++ and STL. I am new to Qt.

The job at hand is this. I work in the IT Section of the Printing department in a national Telecommunication company. We print bills for land and cellular phones, various notices for our company an outside clients. Most of outside client are bank and insurance companies. Problem we have is that every job that we do must have a work order. Work order is basically a paper with says that 1000 notices for car loans need to be printed for Bank A on Bank A paper type 2 on our printer 3 than put in Bank A envelopes type 1 on our machine for automating packaging 4 and to in every envelope flayer need to be put for the feeding station 2.

Our working orders are very old and don’t serve their purpose any more. I want to make application that will help automatize the process of making and later printing our new working orders.

My idea, and this is where I need your advice and criticism, is to make main window, I’ll see later if SDI or MDI approach is better, and in this main window have central widget that will be heart of my application. First idea was make series of combo boxes.
In first one you choose a client company. Bank A, Company B etc.
In second you choose the paper but it should give you only paper that previously selected company has. If you chose one client second combo box have only paper options for that client.
In third you choose the envelope. Again you should get options only for the selected company.