PDA

View Full Version : QBuffer bytesWritten() problem

QAlex
28th September 2009, 15:47
Hi all,
I spent some time trying to see the signal bytesWritten working over a QBuffer instance, but without any succes... I post here a little example of my code.

QBuffer buffer;
char ch;

connect(&buffer,SIGNAL(bytesWritten(qint64)),this,SLOT(test (qint64)));

buffer.open(QBuffer::ReadWrite);
buffer.write("Qt rocks!");
buffer.seek(0);
buffer.getChar(&ch); // ch == 'Q'
qDebug("%c",ch);
buffer.getChar(&ch); // ch == 't'
qDebug("%c",ch);
buffer.getChar(&ch); // ch == ' '
qDebug("%c",ch);
buffer.getChar(&ch); // ch == 'r'
qDebug("%c",ch);

this is the test SLOT:

void classname::test()
{
qDebug("test test test");
}

The code compile without any problem, but the signal bytesWritten is always absent!!!
I hope someone can help me, because I'm stuck on this annoying problem. :mad:

In my opinion could be a Qt bug, but since I'm a novice in Qt4 programming, I like to discuss with someone expert (or guru... :p) before thinking bad things!!!

A possible workaround is to define a new QIODevice subclass in which I have to reimplement the bytesWritten signal in order to create a new QBuffer working subclass!
But I hope to make the original one working!

Best regards,
Alessandro

wysota
28th September 2009, 18:10
It's not nice to say "hey, something doesn't work in my code, I think it's a Qt bug". Qt is open source, read the source of QBuffer write and see when the signal gets emitted.

QAlex
29th September 2009, 08:43
Thanks for the reply!
I apologize for my presumption... you are right!
But I told so, since a friend of mine has the same problem.
We found yesterday a possible workaround of this problem... It seems that connecting the two signals bytesWritten and readyRead, the signal bytesWritten is emitted:

socket = new QBuffer(&pckBuffer,this);
connect(socket,SIGNAL(bytesWritten(qint64)),pCl,SL OT(SendPck(qint64)));
connect(socket,SIGNAL(readyRead()),this,SLOT(dummy ()));