PDA

View Full Version : Is VS usable with opensource Qt?



jackintosh
11th October 2009, 17:09
Hi,
I've downloaded the lgpl windows version of qt and the VS plugin, but I can't compile under VS because it misses qtmain.lib (linker error).

BTW is it possible to compile qt code from VS (2005 or 2008)? Where are the import lib files? Or is it only possible with the commercial licence?

Thanks for any pointers

wysota
11th October 2009, 21:56
You need to rebuild Qt against Visual C++ compiler. Run configure -help and follow the text there. If it's still unclear, consult our wiki.

squidge
11th October 2009, 23:52
By default, Qt only ships with dynamic GCC compiled dynamic DLLs for Windows. If you want anything else you have to compile Qt yourself. No major problem. I got a compile error whilst doing so, but It had compiled all the libraries by then and was working on the tools, so I really didn't care (I just took the pre-compiled tools). The VS addin will take any '.pro' file and convert it to a proper VStudio project, and then the usual F5 runs MOC and UIC for you which is just magic. You really don't have to setup anything else.