PDA

View Full Version : Lots of code in QMainWindow

GimpMaster
21st October 2009, 13:57
I have to preference this with I'm still a beginner/intermediate to Qt however I am beginning to do more advanced applications. One thing I'm beginning to realize is that lots of code could potentially be placed in the derived class of yours that represents the QMainWindow.

This is what I mean....Right now I have a QTabWidget and a QDockWidget. Each one of those controls get stuffed into the main Ui class so if say i had 10 buttons on each tab and I had 10 Tabs that would be 100 potentially separate functions (slots) for handling them. Same goes for the QDockWidget.

Am I wrong in this or is there a way to segment up your code so you don't end up with just one huge 5000 line file. I guess I'm coming from an MFC background where each Tab of the Tab control would be a separate derived class.

Thanks in advance!

caduel
21st October 2009, 16:03
No one prevents you from creating custom classes that represent a special button, a panel, a dock widget... you name it.

This highly recommended, because you do not want files with 50k lines of code.

GimpMaster
21st October 2009, 17:46
So just so I understand this a Tab for example....

I would create a new QWidget class of my own that would handle all the contents on that particular Tab, complete with its own form file. Then on the MainWindow form file I would "Promote To" my new QWidget class.

Is that right?

Thanks!

squidge
21st October 2009, 19:39
There's no need to promote unless you want to modify existing functionality.

For tabs however, there's nothing wrong with having each tab in a different ui file and source file. Same goes for other parts of your ui such as groupboxes. Its more modular that way. As long as your widgets have a parent, they'll be happy.

GimpMaster
21st October 2009, 19:43
Thanks,