PDA

View Full Version : QTCreator GUI How to link button with textarea

chs
9th November 2009, 09:47
Hello! I'm new in QT Programming and i tried to make a simple textarea with a button and I want to push the button and put some text like "Hello world" in the text area.

I know it could be simple but I read some example and I don't know how to do this.

Thanks a lot

yogeshgokul
9th November 2009, 10:35
Hello! I'm new in QT Programming and i tried to make a simple textarea with a button and I want to push the button and put some text like "Hello world" in the text area. I know it could be simple but I read some example and I don't know how to do this.Thanks a lot
You need to connect button's signal to a slot. In slot you can set text in your text area.

chs
9th November 2009, 11:01
There is some way to do it graffically? If I click with the right mouse button in my form button appears the option "go to slot", the I select Click() signal and it create a line in the code with a function that will be run when the button is clicked. I guess, i have to write there the code to write some text in the textarea but I don't know how to

yogeshgokul
9th November 2009, 11:18
There is some way to do it graffically?
This is most gracefull way ;)

If I click with the right mouse button in my form button appears the option "go to slot", the I select Click() signal and it create a line in the code with a function that will be run when the button is clicked. I guess, i have to write there the code to write some text in the textarea

Absolutely right :)

but I don't know how to
What text area you are using. Try this function call,

yourTextArea->setText("Hello World !!");

chs
9th November 2009, 11:33
This is my code:

void MainWindow::on_pushButton_clicked()
{
textEdit->setText("Hello World !!");
}

textEdit is the name of the text box.

I have this error:

mainwindow.cpp: In member function `void MainWindow::on_pushButton_clicked()':