PDA

View Full Version : Thread Safe Queue container....

jcox23
3rd December 2009, 18:35
Hello,

I started learning about multi threading with Python then C....
solving a classical Consumer/Producer problem...

In python, the class Queue (and its equivalent the GLib (C)) were a good solution it seems... thread-safe queue container, one thread push stuff in it, other pop stuff from it...

I'm porting to C++/Qt, and I was surprised to see no such convenience class inside Qt....
QList, QQueue and co are all unsafe regarding threading.

So I wrote a class around QQueue to make it thread safe...(with mutexes)...

But I'm thinking that maybe such class is absent because there is a more natural way to handle the Consumer/Producer problem in a "Qt way"....

How would you go about it?

squidge
3rd December 2009, 18:50
Depends on the application. If there was more reads than writes then I'd use QReadLocker & QWriteLocker, as they are based for this purpose. They also ensure the state of the lock is always well defined.

wysota
3rd December 2009, 23:31
Producer/consumer problem is usually solved using semaphores or wait conditions, depending on the type of pattern you are dealing with (mainly if the number of producer "slots" is limited - i.e. when you produce data into a buffer of limited size).

Tanuki-no Torigava
3rd December 2009, 23:36
You can use QMutex on critical ops. Check assistan for QMutex details.

jcox23
4th December 2009, 09:26
Producer/consumer problem is usually solved using semaphores or wait conditions, depending on the type of pattern you are dealing with (mainly if the number of producer "slots" is limited - i.e. when you produce data into a buffer of limited size).

In this particular case, the container cannot be limited in size...even though it will likely have little "pressure" (1:1 - 3:1 consumers : producers, with each pop/push separated by seconds)... it is critical that the information produced by the producer is not lost....

I ended up with: