PDA

View Full Version : Lots of beginner doubts

Nishant
22nd December 2009, 11:08
Hello all,
I am a beginner in Qt.Please clarify:
1.Why is the indentation so made(like QApplication.....etc)
2.the following code does not show any output:

#include<QApplication>
#include<QFont>
#include<QPushButton>
class quitwidget:public QWidget
{
public:
quitwidget(QWidget *parent=0):QWidget(parent)
{
QPushButton p("hey",this);
// p is a child widget of calling widget
// p.setFont(QFont("Times",80,QFont::Bold));
//p.setGeometry(62,40,75,30);
//since it does not know abt qapp object we connect it to QApp pointer
connect( &p, SIGNAL(clicked()), qApp, SLOT(quit()) );
//QLabel l("Hello");
p.show();
}
};

int main(int argc,char *argv[])
{
QApplication a( argc, argv );
QWidget w;
quitwidget q(&w);
//q.setGeometry( 100, 100, 200, 120 );
w.show();
return a.exec();
}

3.any way to host qt applications online?
Thanks..

wysota
22nd December 2009, 11:35
1.Why is the indentation so made(like QApplication.....etc)
I don't understand the question. If you are asking why we indent code then we do it because it is easier to read it when it is indented than when it is not. Indentation is not obligatory.

2.the following code does not show any output:
Your button object goes out of scope as soon as the constructor returns.

3.any way to host qt applications online?

If you mean something like an applet - you can write Qt apps in Java (with the help of Jambi). If you're asking about means of placing an app somewhere it can be downloaded and executed locally, just provide a link to the application on your webpage.

Nishant
22nd December 2009, 11:57
Hey thanks for reply.
1.about indentation i meant that why is it kept like
QApplication and not as qapplication....for other examples take QHBoxLayout and not qhboxlayout
2.How do i rectify it<that code>

Nishant
22nd December 2009, 12:08