PDA

View Full Version : Programming in Windows

kroenecker
21st June 2006, 05:19
If I want to use a class that is a part of System.IO (specifically FileSystemWatcher), how do I compile such a program in QT?

I'm not experienced at all in compiling C++ programs under windows other than to use QT so I apologize for my ignorance.

ball
21st June 2006, 06:18
If you decide to use VC++.NET, why bother using Qt?

Qt already has everything you need to build world class application, please switch your work from VC++.NET to Qt, thanks.

wysota
21st June 2006, 09:25
Naaaa... it's not like that. You can use one product together with the other if you need it. Qt certainly doesn't have everything. AFAIK Qt works well with .NET although the class mentioned is probably available as a WinAPI call too. I don't see any sense in having dependencies to .NET if you only want to use a single call out of it. I suggest you try to do it with plain WinAPI.

kroenecker
21st June 2006, 21:28
If it is a winApi call, do you think you could point me towards a tutorial that will show me how to compile in that functionality? Or could you give me a brief example?

wysota
21st June 2006, 22:11
I can only point you to msdn.windows.com. IMHO WinAPI is the worst designed API ever, so I don't waste my time learning it and I don't know any tutorials on the problem. I suggest you search msdn for queries like "watching files", "file monitoring" or simmilar.

michael
22nd June 2006, 05:19
If I understand what you are looking for this should point you in the right direction. I don't think Qt has a class specifically to notify you upon a change in a file or directory. None that I could find anyway. This link is for WinAPI which would at least prevent you from having to use .NET for one call.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/fileio/fs/obtaining_directory_change_notifications.asp

michael
30th June 2006, 17:17