PDA

View Full Version : Saving data from QStandardItemModel to harddrive

Ferric
18th January 2010, 20:46
Hi,

I have a QTableView (please see attached) that is set with a QStandardItemModel, its all working properly, and now I would like to try and save the data in the "model" to the harddrive.

Im pretty new to Qt and not really sure where to begin, I imagine I would set up a button as a signal and attach this to some kind of "save dialog" slot, but I'm not really sure... also does the model data have to be saved in a specific format?

Thanks

ChrisW67
18th January 2010, 23:53
You can save the data any way you like. For a simple approach you could iterate over the rows and columns of the model and write to a QDataStream something like:

QFile file(filename);
QDataStream out(&file);
out << quint32(MagicNumber); // lets you verify the file type/version on read
for (int row = 0; row < model.rowCount(); row++ ) {
for (int col = 0; col < model.columnCount(); col++) {
// do something to fetch the item data
out << quint16(row) << quint16(col) << relevant bits of the data;
}
}

Coises
19th January 2010, 01:26
Im pretty new to Qt and not really sure where to begin, I imagine I would set up a button as a signal and attach this to some kind of "save dialog" slot, but I'm not really sure... also does the model data have to be saved in a specific format?

Setting up a button and using its QAbstractButton::clicked signal to detect when it is pushed is correct, but you connect that signal to a slot that you will add to your main window class. In that slot, you will do whatever you need to save the data, which might include calling QFileDialog::getSaveFileName to get a file name and location from the user to which to save.