PDA

View Full Version : new Form(QWidget) don't show when passing parent

Talei
22nd January 2010, 00:45
Hello.
I stumble upon (very easy problem, but can't figure it out) problem with showing another Form.
I created application with "main" form, then I want show "About/Info" form but when I pass as parent (this) another form don't show.

Form fr = new Form(this);
fr->setWindowTitle(tr("Form Info/About"));
fr->show();
Form is "standard" form generated with QtCreator (class Form : public QWidget {...)

I studied examples and my code is practically identical.
Also when I pass no argument form show but is a independent window (shows in task bar) and after closing "main" window form window stays open.
Any suggestion are more then welcome.
Qt 4.6 Win
PS. same situation with qt4.6.1 on Win/Lin x64

PS2. ok I SOLVED my problem by doing :

fr = new Form(this);
fr->setWindowFlags( Qt::Window);
fr->setWindowModality( Qt::ApplicationModal );
fr->show();
fr->setFocus();
and from what I see the "problem" is "this" in Form. It seams that this not points to parent Form but i.e MainWindow.
What helps is "fr->setWindowFlags( Qt::Window);" that probably change parent.
I would like to know why is that happening.

Best regards

wysota
22nd January 2010, 11:47
A widget with a parent doesn't become a window but is embedded into its parent. If you don't put it in a layout it might end up in a strange place on the parent and might have an arbitrary size (0x0 included). So if you want your widget to be a window, simply don't pass a parent at all.

Talei
22nd January 2010, 20:36
Thank you for reply.
That's explains why qt examples work correctly (they manually put it in layout) and my code don't. (Form generated with it's own Ui in QtCreator). I think (not sure about this please correct me) that when I use, generated with QtCreator, Form with it's own Ui :

Form::Form(QWidget *parent) : QWidget(parent), ui(new Ui::Form)
{
ui->setupUi(this);
}