PDA

View Full Version : TCP/IP interrupts || MAC address || Client-Server relationship || Arranging packets

rbaleksandar
27th January 2010, 17:41
Hi, guys. :)

First post here so I hope I didn't put this in the wrong section of the forum. Before starting with what I need to do and what's what, I'd like to ask you not to use some freakish terminology, because I'm new to Qt (yet not a total newbie). The questions below are not in any particular order.

Now let's start with the thing I'm doing. I'm working on a school-project and have a pressure sensor that is connected to some kind of a signal converter that actually does all the low-level transformations of the signals coming from the sensor and sends all the data via TCP/IP. Now I've programmed sensors before but using C, interrupts and low-level programming. But never done something like this in Qt and what's more - using TCP or whatever. Sooo...

First question: is it possible to collect data via interrupts from a certain device via TCP/IP. I've seen this but with Java. If someone can give me some rough guideline or even an example, it'll be greatly appreciated.

The next question is the following. The computer I'm using has 2 network cards. I seem not to be able to find any information about how to retrieve the MAC address of each network card and use one by choice that is - program detects X network cards (via MAC addresses) and gives the user the opportunity to choose which card to use (and the corresponding ports of course), so that the first network card can be used to receive the data from the sensor and using the program display it on the screen and at the same time the other card can be used to do something else (playing some pocker online :D).