PDA

View Full Version : Exception (crash) when accessing QImage pixel

TheJim01
19th February 2010, 20:32
I'm still learning Qt, so as an exercise (and a tool for an upcoming project) I'm building a simple histogram widget. It's throwing an exception as it's parsing the image data, and I have no idea what could be causing it. I'm using 4.6.1 in XP Pro SP3.
void Histogrammer::analyzeImage(QImage *original)
{
// histogramData is a member variable -- an int array of size 256
initializeHistogramData(); // initializes the array to zeroes

for(int row = 0; row < original->height(); row++)
{
for(int col = 0; col < original->width(); col++)
{
histogramData[(QColor(original->pixel(row, col)).red() + QColor(original->pixel(row, col)).green() + QColor(original->pixel(row, col)).blue()) / 3]++;
}
}
}
I put the widget into a MainWindow application, and compile it (WidgetTester.exe). This works. ...for the first 10 pixels.

My image is 30px wide by 10px tall, and is a standard 24-bit Windows bitmap (I load my QImage using the "BMP" format as well). I put debug outputs into the code, and can confirm that it detects the dimensions correctly. I also put debug outputs in to detect the row/column it was currently working on, and can confirm it is scanning the first row, from left to right.

When it attempts to read the pixel at (0, 10), it throws:
An unhandled win32 exception occurred in WidgetTester.exe [3304]If I open the debugger (VS2008), I see:
Unhandled exception at 0x00000001 in WidgetTester.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000001.I've parsed images in this way before, so I don't know why it would be complaining now. I have all the same rights to the image file that I'm using, as all of the previous images I've used.