PDA

View Full Version : Qt4.1.4 make errors.



impeteperry
30th June 2006, 13:40
I have a new installation Kubuntu 6.06
I have installed "g++" & "make" as requested.
I ran "./configure" no errors, warning about "xshape" which I ignored
I ran "make"
Make stopped with the following message
make[3]: Entering directory `/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
make[3]: *** No rule to make target `../../include/QtCore/qconfig.h', needed by `.obj/debug-shared/qglobal.o'. Stop.
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
make[2]: *** [debug-all] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
make[1]: *** [sub-corelib-make_default-ordered] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src'
make: *** [sub-src-make_default-ordered] Error 2
pete@newCompaxA:~/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4$

I then looked at "corelib.pro" and got
TARGET = QtCore
QPRO_PWD = $$PWD
QT =
DEFINES += QT_BUILD_CORE_LIB
win32-msvc*|win32-icc:QMAKE_LFLAGS += /BASE:0x67000000

include(../qbase.pri)
include(arch/$$ARCH/arch.pri)
include(global/global.pri)
include(thread/thread.pri)
include(tools/tools.pri)
include(io/io.pri)
include(plugin/plugin.pri)
include(kernel/kernel.pri)
include(codecs/codecs.pri)

mac:LIBS += -framework ApplicationServices

mac:lib_bundle:DEFINES += QT_NO_DEBUG_PLUGIN_CHECK
win32:DEFINES-=QT_NO_CAST_TO_ASCII

QMAKE_LIBS += $$QMAKE_LIBS_CORE

contains(DEFINES,QT_EVAL):include(eval.pri)

I had no problems with Qt4.1,3 before

A comple re-install of Kubunutu and/or Qt4 would be no problem.


Thanks for any help

jacek
30th June 2006, 15:19
What is the first error message? Try running "make > log.txt 2>&1" and check if there is anything suspicious in log.txt. Probably you need some development packages.

impeteperry
30th June 2006, 17:21
I jsst ran "make" again. here is the total output
pete@newCompaq:~/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4$ make
cd src && make -f Makefile
make[1]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src'
cd tools/moc && make -f Makefile
make[2]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/moc'
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `first'.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/moc'
cd tools/rcc && make -f Makefile
make[2]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/rcc'
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `first'.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/rcc'
cd tools/uic && make -f Makefile
make[2]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/uic'
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `first'.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/uic'
cd corelib && make -f Makefile
make[2]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
make -f Makefile.Debug all
make[3]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
make[3]: *** No rule to make target `../../include/QtCore/qconfig.h', needed by `.obj/debug-shared/qglobal.o'. Stop.
make[3]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
make[2]: *** [debug-all] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
make[1]: *** [sub-corelib-make_default-ordered] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src'
make: *** [sub-src-make_default-ordered] Error 2
pete@newCompaq:~/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4$

I don't want to install any packages that I don't need at this time.
I have installed the "make" and the "g++" packages.

I have modified the "soucesList"
#
# deb cdrom:[Kubuntu 6.06 _Dapper Drake_ - Release i386 (20060531)]/ dapper main restricted


deb cdrom:[Kubuntu 6.06 _Dapper Drake_ - Release i386 (20060531)]/ dapper main restricted

deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper main restricted
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper main restricted

## Major bug fix updates produced after the final release of the
## distribution.
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper-updates main restricted
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper-updates main restricted

## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from the 'universe'
## repository.
## N.B. software from this repository is ENTIRELY UNSUPPORTED by the Ubuntu
## team, and may not be under a free licence. Please satisfy yourself as to
## your rights to use the software. Also, please note that software in
## universe WILL NOT receive any review or updates from the Ubuntu security
## team.
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper universe
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper universe

## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from the 'backports'
## repository.
## N.B. software from this repository may not have been tested as
## extensively as that contained in the main release, although it includes
## newer versions of some applications which may provide useful features.
## Also, please note that software in backports WILL NOT receive any review
## or updates from the Ubuntu security team.
# deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper-backports main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper-backports main restricted universe multiverse


deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security main restricted
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security main restricted
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security universe
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security universe

deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper multiverse
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper multiverse

I don't know what additional packages might be required.

jacek
30th June 2006, 19:09
What exactly has happened when you run configure? Maybe it didn't finish its job?

impeteperry
30th June 2006, 19:31
What exactly has happened when you run configure? Maybe it didn't finish its job? it had the warning about "xshape", and to run configure with " -xshape" option and how to re-move config. The warning and discription were indented. Below that at the original width it said run "make" and below that run " -c make install". I scanned thru the configsration data and there was no indication of any problem. It might have said "configure complete" but I'm not sure. It look exactly the same as when I installed Qt4.1.3;

jacek
30th June 2006, 20:24
Well, I've never had such problems when installing Qt, but I think that this qconfig.h file should be generated by configure.

What filesystem do you use on the partition where you compile Qt? Did you extract sources as the same user as you are trying to compile Qt now? Also check if your clock is correctly set.

impeteperry
30th June 2006, 21:51
The clock is right. I use it as a screen saver.

I let the Kubuntu installer do the partioning on a 120g drive. Everyting seems to work fine.
I have installed "synaptic" as I prefer it to "adept" I check that the changes I made to the "sources.list" worked OK. and I had access to the addional files.

The only additonal files I have installed are "make", "g++", "gdb", "ddd" and "synaptic" and I have run "apt-get update"

I think your original thought, that it was looking for a missing package is correct, but what???

Incidently, nothing has been added to the "/usr/local" file.There is no "/Trollteck?" directory there

jacek
30th June 2006, 22:05
I let the Kubuntu installer do the partioning on a 120g drive. Everyting seems to work fine.
This problem might be caused by filesystem that doesn't support soft links, but that would mean that you have installed your system on FAT or NTFS partition.

Maybe you have moved the sources after running configure?


I think your original thought, that it was looking for a missing package is correct, but what???
Yes, but it would come out after the second "make". I've checked the configure script and now I'm convinced that it failed for some reason.

Yet something tells me that you should check if you have development package for Standard C++ library (libstdc++-devel or simliar). Probably it won't fix this issue, but you'll need it anyway.

impeteperry
1st July 2006, 02:03
That brought up a thought, but I started comparing installed files here with those in another computer and added any that looked promising. Still no go. Same error and I did what I didn't want to do. Add unnecessary packages.

I'm running a current "debian" distro. Is there any place where I can find what addional packages I need.to install so I can install Qt4.1.4?

I think I shall reinstall it this week end. Intall all the packages in my other disk, but make a note of each one so I can remove them ( full ) one by one if I get a good install of Qt4.1.4 and find out what I really need. Will let you know how I make out.

I appreciate your help

jacek
1st July 2006, 14:00
If you were missing some package, configure should tell you about it.

Could you do a little test? Enter the directory where Qt sources are and enter these commands:

$ pwd
/home/users/jacek/Qt
$ echo "test" > test
$ ln -s test test2
$ cat test2
test
$ ls -la test*
-rw------- 1 jacek users 5 2006-07-01 14:53 test
lrwxrwxrwx 1 jacek users 4 2006-07-01 14:53 test2 -> test
$ ls -la include/QtCore/qconfig.h
lrwxrwxrwx 1 jacek users 49 2006-06-22 19:33 include/QtCore/qconfig.h -> /home/users/jacek/Qt/src/corelib/global/qconfig.h

This will verify that soft links work.

impeteperry
1st July 2006, 16:52
I added 2 packages "gdb" and "ddd"
I deleted the Qt4 directory
I "sudo ./configure -xshape"
I "sudo make"
I "sudo su -c make install"
I added "PATH=/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.1.4/bin:$PATH
export PATH"
to the ".bash_profile.
I re-booted.
All works fine.

I have a distinct feeling I did not run make as "root".

What ever you do, don't get old. You tend to make misteaks.

I want to thank you for your help. it is what makes Linux great.

Pete Perry

jacek
1st July 2006, 17:27
I have a distinct feeling I did not run make as "root".
root privileges are required only for "make install". Something must have happened to Qt sources. Maybe access rights were incorrect?