PDA

View Full Version : How To Dynamically Add Widget when Clicked() signal emitted - In Qt-Designer ?

rimkashox
26th February 2010, 19:26
Hello, I'm quite new to QT and trying to design a Ui in QT-Designer that automatically adds a new groupBox when a pushButton is clicked. I've put everything in a Scroll area so that we can add unlimited numbers of items.

I could find a close() slot that works... (it make the groupBox disappear)... But is there no create() slot ?

How do I dynamically create a new GroupBox when the button is clicked ? Here's a screen shot of what I mean:

http://i46.tinypic.com/2mhbkif.png

I don't mind even complicated solutions... the important thing is that it works! Perhaps this could be achieved with the use of UiLoader ??

What do you think?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks. :)

Lykurg
26th February 2010, 20:32
The designer is a great tool but it can't perform magic. You have to write your own slot to add new widgets. But that's not difficult. Just create a new widget and add it to the layout via QLayout::addWidget().

rimkashox
27th February 2010, 14:50
Thanks LyKurg, this seems to be the best solution! I'll try it out. Thanks a lot!

Illidan
2nd January 2013, 22:49
Hi, I'm pretty new to Qt and i don't even have that much experience in programming. My problem is basicly the same like the one of rimkashox, when a pushButton is klicked, i want to automatically add a new groupbox with some items (a label, a button (to remove the groupbox) and a textfield) in it. But since I'm really new the solution doesn't help me. I could need a step by step solution.

So how do I create a widget? Do you mean the normal way over "rightklick on the project-->add-->qt-designer-form-class-->Widget(template\forms)"? So that i can use the Qt-Designer to build my widget?