PDA

View Full Version : Raw Images on Qt Widget

Ratheendrans
18th March 2010, 13:14
Hi All,

I am working on application which requires Fingerprint sensor's raw images to be displayed on QT widget.

Since I am relatively new to QT,Can any one enlighten me on how this can be achieved using QT libraries.

Thanks in Advance.
Ratheendran

JohannesMunk
18th March 2010, 15:52
By RAW images you are refering to uncompressed image data, that you have in memory?

Try constructing a QImage with this constructor:

QImage::QImage ( uchar * data, int width, int height, int bytesPerLine, Format format );

Than you can show it with a QLabel.

HIH

Johannes

aamer4yu
18th March 2010, 18:15
or may be RAW means the RAW format used in digital cams...
not sure how RAW data is converted to jpg.
Anyways no harm in trying above post :)

JohannesMunk
18th March 2010, 18:28
That thought crossed my mind too, but I really doubt, that a fingerprint sensor even supports multiple colors. Because the one thing that really would be difficult in handling camera RAW files is to make something usefull of the Bayers pattern (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bayer_filter).. A Bayers pattern sensor has a lot of difficulties, with high frequency geometric contrasts.. Trading geometric resolution for color resolution... But the highest possible geometric resolution is what you need in a fingerprint sensor. So: no Camera RAW involved here!

Joh

Ratheendrans
19th March 2010, 13:11
Thanks Johannes,

I am able to display the RAW image on QLabel by following your steps,in this case the background goes black and the fingerprint impression is colored.
if the same data is stored in a file and displayed after converting into standard format,I get the background color as white and fingerprint impression in black,my question is how I can change the memory image to look like the latter case.

I want to superimpose the correct/wrong signs on this image,how can I achive it?

Thanks,
Ratheendran

JohannesMunk