PDA

View Full Version : What does this command mean?

mr.dct
19th March 2010, 01:40
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie. Im learning QT language with the "C++ GUI programming with Qt4". I don't really know about the following command:

class SortDialog : public QDialog, public Ui::SortDialog

Anyone tell me what does it mean. Thanks alot.
A SortDialog dialog had been designed before.

aamer4yu
19th March 2010, 04:52
This is not about Qt... its about C++

class SortDialog : public QDialog, public Ui::SortDialog
it says SortDialog is a class which inherits QDialog class and Ui::SortDialog class.

Ui is a namespace, and Ui::SortDialog is the class in the namespace Ui.
Basically this class must be designed in designer and then code created with uic.

Have you designed it ? If yes, would suggest to change design,,, because inheriting from two dialogs doesnt make sense..does it ?
You could very well had Ui::SortDialog inherited from QDialog, and SortDialog from Ui::SortDialog.

mr.dct
19th March 2010, 08:11
Thanks for your reply.
By your meaning, I should have Ui::SortDialog inherited from QDialog. So how can I have it.
Cause I designed the Dialog with the Qt Designer and then qmake will create the header file automatically.
Can I hand-code this file or It will automatically inherited the QDialog class.
P/S: I'm not good at English. So if I make some typing error, grammar error, etc... pls let me know.

aamer4yu
19th March 2010, 09:35
You can do something like in your header file -

#include "ui_mainWidget.h"
class MainWindow : public QMainWindow
{
Q_OBJECT

private:
Ui::MainWindow ui; // Ui::Mainwindow is the class name you gave to the widget in designer. check ui_****.h file when uic is run over .ui file.
public:
MainWindow();
};

and in cpp -

MainWindow::MainWindow()
{
ui.setupUi(this);
}

Also search examples in Qt Demos... I guess you will find some example how they have used .ui file

wysota
19th March 2010, 09:38