PDA

View Full Version : On windows: MinGW + Qt + Which Debugger?



Dwarf007
7th July 2006, 13:40
Hello,

I am using Qt and MinGw under Windows. Which Debugger would you suggest ?
I tried gdb but I didn't really managed to use it (to complicate?) :confused:

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!
Daniel

fullmetalcoder
8th July 2006, 15:08
I am using Qt and MinGw under Windows. Which Debugger would you suggest ?
I tried gdb but I didn't really managed to use it (to complicate?) :confused:

AFAIK gdb is the only *free* debugger available under M$ Window$ (and any other OS BTW). It is not really complicated as long as you're delaing with simple task. The most common use of gdb is :


gdb program_to_debug
run
bt
quit


Alternatively you can use GUI that interfaces between gdb and you. Dev-Cpp and Code::Blocks has such features but they need the projects to be compiled with their projet files formats (which don't support Qt very well). If you someway managed to make Dev-Cpp or Code::Blocks debug your Qt app please let me know : all my attempts to use them for debugging have failed...:(

niko
8th July 2006, 16:32
i used eclipse cdt as IDE on windows; it has a gui for gdb too (just like Dev-Cpp and Code::Blocks)

http://www.eclipse.org/cdt/

edit: and it event worked for me :D (i didn't try dev-cpp or code::blocks)

fullmetalcoder
9th July 2006, 20:09
Eclipse would be really nice (notice the 'would') if it wasn't written in JAVA... Such a language choice implies big an slow applications, which can't be good for business, especially when your PC is 5 years old and your network connection limited to 56kb/second... :(

niko
10th July 2006, 19:54
yep, thats true for sure, and its also the reason why i use now KDevelop (which has gdb very nice integraded btw)

niko

Dwarf007
10th July 2006, 20:12
yep, thats true for sure, and its also the reason why i use now KDevelop (which has gdb very nice integraded btw)

KDevelop with windows? using cygwin?
or do you speak about KDevelop under Linux in that case it does not answer my question

niko
11th July 2006, 18:47
no, i'm working now on linux...
(and on windows i used eclipse - as allready said)

kdevelop4 probably will work on windows aswell...

Dwarf007
11th July 2006, 18:50
kdevelop4 probably will work on windows aswell...

Where did you heared that from?
I went on the kdevelop website and didn`t find any announcement like that

niko
12th July 2006, 19:21
Where did you heared that from?

I didn't hear it for kdevelop, but kdelibs are allready ported to windows, and as qt4 is now gpl on win32 it should be possible.
for example the new build-system kde uses (cmake) was choosen because it works on win32 too.

so i'm pretty sure we will get kdevelop for windows in some time :D
(if this is a good thing or not is a different question...)

http://dot.kde.org/1151688350/
http://wiki.kde.org/tiki-index.php?page=KDE4%20Windows%20Port