PDA

View Full Version : QString, QStringList and garbage collection...

PaladinKnight
2nd April 2010, 02:59
Hi!

Are QString and QStringList garbage collected garbage collected?

I need to manipulate a QString using both QString methods and a QStringList and I'm wondering if I have to do any cleanup after I processed the QString passed as a parameter...

Thank you!

Nick

Lykurg
2nd April 2010, 06:52
If you create it on the heap, then you have to care about. But since they are implicit shared, simple create them on the stack and all is fine:
void Class::function()
{
QString str;
str = "foo";
myFunctionTakingAString(str);
// or
emit mySignal(str);
}

PaladinKnight
2nd April 2010, 19:08
Hi!

Thank you for your help!

If you create it on the heap, then you have to care about. But since they are implicit shared, simple create them on the stack and all is fine:

I am also a newbie in C++ so I want to make sure I correctly understood what you said.

(I am however familiar with C, Java and assembly language and I am trying to adjust to C++ and Qt using the concepts I learned in these other languages).

OK, from what I've understood creating it on the heap would mean using a "new" like so:

QString test = new QString("This is a test");

Creating it on the stack would be like this:

QString test = "This is a test";

But then I have also seen this, what does this do?:

QString test = QString("This is a test");

(Since there is no new I would assume it does the same thing as the previous one and some people seem to prefer declaring it that way.)

The method I am calling looks something like this (I've simplified it from what it actually is):

QString makeTest(QString str)

// Do some substitution..
str.replace("*", QString("!"));

// Split at the # and trim what's between them
QStringList sl = str.split('#');
QStringList::iterator it;

for (it = sl.begin(); it != sl.end(); ++it)
{
(*it) = (*it).trimmed();
}

// rejoin everything and put it back in the original string